Just Thinking Out Loud

Wildly Erratic & Completely Inconsistant

Oh and let me say this..

with 2 comments

i-Lighted Content Ok so I made a comment on Chris Brogan’s blog post Shuffling Ads Around. Then of course I thought too much about it. I am furious that we the public let cable tv, satelite tv, tivo, etc charge us for their service and subject us to advertising. You know what? If you want to subject me to advertising, then the FCC should make it illegal for you to charge me a subscrition fee. You want to charge me a subscription fee, then the FCC should make it illegal for you to show advertisements. Appears rather straight forward to me. However, I think too much.pile of money & change

Written by Lara Nieberding, Online Business Manager

March 3, 2008 at 11:40 AM

Posted in marketing

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Agreed. And in movie theaters, I feel that all the more. The cinema gets the money but I have to watch the ad? Huh?

    chrisbrogan

    March 3, 2008 at 9:58 PM

  2. Ooooo…Good point. I did not think about movie theaters! So here is where I fickle out. I like to see characters in a movie using products I use in real life. Remember “Wayne’s World?” (watch clip) Dana Carvey and Mike Meyers holding up products while saying they won’t participate in product placements in their movie. I laughed so hard. However, when a character takes a swig of Coke-a-Cola they are believable. I like tasteful, appropriate product placement in the movies. I understand where this can run amok. Ah-ha! Twist…the studios should PAY me to watch their film!

    laranieberding

    March 3, 2008 at 11:37 PM


Leave a Reply

