Just Thinking Out Loud

Wildly Erratic & Completely Inconsistant

leave a comment »

Who recommended: Lynne Waymon

What I am reading: Make Your Contacts Count (Networking Know-How For Business and Career Success) by Anne Baber and Lynne Waymon

Where in the book: page 66

Why I am reading: Learning how to network. Cause believe me, I have no CLUE!

Which quote: “Brighten up body language.  Engage your partner.”

How this quote adjusted my thinking:

In social situations, I wonder if I am making eye contact?  Am I smiling?  Do I look approachable? Receptive?  When I read the advice, the defensive side of me says  “Yeah, yeah , yeah. I get it. I can do that.”  If I let my defenses down, I have to ask myself, how comfortable am I really?

Tina Su of Think Simple Now blog writes in her post 8 Keys To Instant Charisma about how to mirror the person you are speaking with.  Tina explains:

“Mirroring happens naturally in social interactions, but when you are conscious of it and are aware of its affects, it can be used as a tool in effective communication for generating rapport.”

Tina gives you a detailed description just like Lynne. At the end of Tina’s post,  I had to chuckle.  She says “Just be yourself.”  What if “being myself” isn’t working?  LOL Ok. Back to “Make Your Contacts Count.”

Written by Lara Nieberding, Online Business Manager

April 10, 2008 at 4:05 PM

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

